Paro Taa Dzong
The Dzong is located about five and a half kilometers away from Tshongdu town (the main town of Paro) and 500 feet from the Ringpung Dzong. Above it is Humrel Gonpo’s cas-tle, and below it is the Do Nam Dzong.
History of Paro Taa Dzong
An underground passage is believed to have connected this tower to the Pachhu River. It was mainly built to collect water during times of war and to supply the Dzong when water was scarce. Today the passage is no more to be seen, as it was buried by debris at the time of renovations. Paro Ta Dzong is more than 350 years old. It has remained uninhabited for a long time. The children in the nearby area used it as a playground and entertainment room. This caused some damage to the Dzong, and over time it almost collapsed. But the Father of Modern Bhutan, the third king, Jigme Dorji Wangchuck, out of undying fondness for the cultural legacies of the past, ordered its renovation.
Structure of The Dzong
In 1714, during the mighty earthquake which lasted for 15 days, and again at the time of another earthquake in 1896, the Dong stood unscathed, whereas many in the country were severely damaged or destroyed. Due to this circumstance, some say that the architect must have been an extraordinary man. Most visitors experience an overwhelming feeling that they can’t describe and does not compare with the effects of other Dzongs
Another oddity surrounding the Dzong is that although it is very structurally sound, there are no historical records of the architect, duration taken to complete the construction, or other related information. Truelpai Zochen Baleb, the architect of Punakha Dzong, was one of the professional builders during that time; so some people say that he could be the mysterious architect. The Dzong was wholly built of stone and wood, without the use of nails. The materials used in Ta Dzong date back to the 17th century.
Renovation and Relics
The third storey also contains objects associated with the dual system of government implemented by the Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyal.
Various religious objects occupy the second storey. At the front are objects or artifacts related to animals and insects of Bhutan. The first storey displays bamboo products and farming materials. The ground floor exhibits include arms and weapons, along with the castle of Lu (a subterranean de-ity). On the periphery are antiques from the 18th and 19th century and a cup belonging to the first Desi. At the front are antiques of bronze and copper. Outside the exit is the Baza Guru prayer wheel and a portrait of Gyelchen Zhi (kings of four directions) carved on stones. Historically, the ground floor was used as the entrance, but today the top floor serves as the entrance and the ground floor as the exit
Timing to Visit National Museam
Timing to visit the national Museam of Bhutan should know the following:
From Tuesday to Saturday, the museam opens from 9 Am to 4 Pm.
The National Museum is open throughout the week except on government and local holidays.
- Summer opening hours (March – October) 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Ticket counter closes at 4.30 PM)
- Winter opening hours (November – February) 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. (Ticket counter closes at 3.30 PM)
- Admission fee structure
Tourist Nu. 500.00
SAARC tourist Nu. 300.00
Locals Nu. 50.00
Monks, nuns, and Gomchens _ Free